List of 5 Jyotirlingas in Maharashtra


In Hindu mythology, the ‘Jyotirlinga’ means column or pillar of light. These shrines of Lord Shiva are believed to be the ultimate places of worship.

Among the 12 Jyotirlingas of India, 5 are in Maharashtra. They are Trimbakeshwar, Bhimashankar, Grishneshwar, Ghushmeshwar, and Parli Vajinath.

List of 5 Jyotirlingas in Maharashtra

List of Jyotirlinga in Maharashtra

1. Bhimashankhar Jyotirlinga Temple Maharashtra

A woodcutter discovered this Shiva linga when he hit the tree with his axe. Since then this place is known as the 6th among the 12 traditional Jyotirlingas.

A key pilgrimage center and a tourist attraction, the temple is rich in flora and fauna. It is also home to the Bhima River.

2. Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga Temple Maharashtra

Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga Temple Maharashtra is home to one of the 12 jyotirlingas and has several interesting stories associated with it. A popular story is that of Sage Gautama meditating hard for the Ganges to appear at this sacred spot.

It is also the birthplace of Saint Dnyaneshwar, who wrote the commentary on Bhagwati Gita that guides many people to a path of positivity.

3. Trimbakeshwar Jyotirlinga Temple Maharashtra

Trimbakeshwar is one of the 12 Jyotirlinga Temple of Lord Shiva. The sacred river Godavari flows near this temple.

The sanctum sanctorum of this temple contains a unique crown that dates back to the Pandavas’ era. This crown is used for Abhishek.

4. Aundha Nagnath Jyotirlinga Temple Maharashtra

Aundha Nagnath Jyotirlinga Temple in Maharashtra is a popular pilgrimage spot. It is the 8th of 12 Jyotirlingas dedicated to Lord Shiva. The temple has several interesting legends associated with it.

It is believed that the Pandavas constructed this temple during their exile of 14 years. It is also associated with the saints Visoba Khechara and Namdev.

5. Parli Vaijnath Jyotirlinga Temple Maharashtra

Parli Vaijnath Jyotirlinga Temple Maharashtra is one of the five famous jyotirlinga of Maharashtra. It is believed that the lingam here has healing powers.

As per the legends, demon king Ravana was an ardent devotee of Lord Shiva. Pleased with his devotion, Lord Shiva granted him a boon.

12 jyotirlinga list

  • Kedarnath
  • Kashi Vishwanath
  • Baidyanath
  • Mahakaleshwar
  • Omkareshwar
  • Grishneshwar
  • Bhimashankar
  • Tryambakeshwar
  • Somnath
  • Nageshwar
  • Mallikarjuna
  • Ramaswamy


How many jyotirlingas are there in Maharashtra?

5 Jyotirlingas are there in Maharashtra.

Which jyotirlinga is most powerful?

Mahakaleshwar Jyotirlinga is the most powerful.

Which jyotirlinga to visit first?

Somnath Jyotirlinga to visit first.